Ambassadors

ISME Ambassador Program

The Ambassador Program promotes and strengthens the discipline of microbial ecology, as broadly as possible, through the action of Ambassadors in individual countries or regions. 

To achieve this mission, ISME cooperates with regional organizations in a broad range of activities. These activities include workshops, symposia, receptions, awards and exchanges. Many other activities are possible, as the program seeks to support its mission in ways most effective in particular regions. In some cases, Ambassadors are assisted by Consuls, junior colleagues, in their work. 

If you require funding for your local workshop, award, symposium or other microbial ecology related event, or if you have suggestions for regional activities or wish to serve as an ambassador or in some other capacity, contact your regional Ambassador in the list below or our Program Director Nicole Webster or the ISME Office


Funding Request Form Download

Country

Ambassador

Young Ambassador

 Argentina                           

Luis Gabriel Wall lgwall**hotmail.com

 

 Armenia

Hovik Panosyan hpanosyan**yahoo.ca

 

 Australia

Justin Seymour Justin.Seymour**uts.edu.au

Lauren Messer l.messer**uq.edu.au

 Austria

Dagmar Woebken woebken**microbial-ecology.net

 

 Belgium

Charles Van der Henst charles.vanderhenst**epfl.ch

 

 Brazil

Leda Cristina Mendonca-Hagler leda**mls.com.br

Fernando Dini Andreote fdandreo**gmail.com 

 Bangladesh

Tanvir Rahman tanvirahman**gmail.com

 

 Cameroon

Henri Fankem fankemhenri**yahoo.fr

 

 Canada

Richard Villemur Richard.Villemur**iaf.inrs.ca 
Josh D. Neufeld jneufeld**uwaterloo.ca

 

 Chile 

Monica Vasquez mvasquez**bio.puc.cl

Cristina Dorador cristina.dorador**uantof.cl

 China

Shixue Yin yinshixue**yzcn.net 
Min Yang yangmin**rcees.ac.cn

Ye Deng yedeng**rcees.ac.cn

 Colombia

Maria Mercedes Zambrano mzambrano**corpogen.org

Alejandro Acosta alejandro.acosta1**unisabana.edu.co

 Costa Rica

Adrián Pinto-Tomas adrian.pinto**ucr.ac.cr

 

 Côte d'Ivoire

Adolphe Zeze youhe.deba**gmail.com

 

 Croatia

Sandi Orlic sorlic**irb.hr

 

 Cuba

Marcia M. Rojas Badía marcia**fbio.uh.cu

 

  Czech Republic

Petr Baldrian baldrian**biomed.cas.cz

 

 Denmark

Niels Peter Revsbech revsbech**biology.au.dk

Rikke Louise Meyer rikke.meyer**inano.au.dk 

 Ecuador

Diego F Quito-Avila diego.quito.avila**gmail.com

 

 Ethiopia

Endalkachew Wolde-Meskel
AMBASSADOR OF THE YEAR 2015 - 2016
Anniye E.Woldemeskel**cgiar.org 
 

 Finland

tba

 

 France

David Prangishvili david.prangishvili**pasteur.fr

Guillaume Borrel guillaume.borrel**pasteur.fr

 Germany

Meinhard Simon m.simon**icbm.de
Jörg Overmann joerg.overmann**dsmz.de

Matthias Wietz matthias.wietz**uni-oldenburg.de

 Greece

Konstantinos Kormas kkormas**uth.gr

Chiara Perruchon perruchon**uth.gr 

 Hong Kong

Ji-Dong Gu jdgu**hkucc.hku.hk

Meng Li limeng848**szu.edu.cn

 Iceland

Bjarnheidur Gudmundsdottir bjarngud**rhi.hi.is

 

 Indonesia

Iswandi Anas iswandi742**yahoo.com

 

 India

Rup Lal ruplal**gmail.com

 

 Ireland

Fergal O'Gara f.ogara**ucc.ie

 

 Israel

Eduard Jurkevitch edouard.jurkevitch**mail.huji.ac.il

Itzhak Mizrahi imizrahi**bgu.ac.il

 Italy

Marco Bazzicalupo marco.bazzicalupo**unifi.it

Stefano Mocali stefano.mocali**crea.gov.it

 Japan

Koji Hamasaki hamasaki**aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Satoshi Okabe sokabe**eng.hokudai.ac.jp 

Yoshiteru Aoi yoshiteruaoi**hiroshima-u.ac.jp 

 Kuwait

Huda Mahmoud bsm8ham**yahoo.co.uk

 

 Luxembourg

Paul Wilmes paul.wilmes**uni.lu

 

 Mexico

Esperanza Martinez-Romero emartine**ccg.unam.mx

Luisa Falcon falcon**ecologia.unam.mx

 Netherlands

Hauke Smidt Hauke.Smidt**wur.nl

Detmer Sipkema detmer.sipkema**wur.nl 

 New Zealand

Matt Stott M.Stott**gns.cri.nz

Kim Handley kim.handley**auckland.ac.nz

 Nigeria

Timothy Olubisi Adejumo timothy.adejumo**aaua.edu.ng

 

 Norway

Lise Øvreås lise.ovreas**bio.uib.no

Phil B. Pope phil.pope**nmbu.no

 Peru

tba

 

 Philippines

Ernelea Cao director**nsri.upd.edu.ph

Pierangeli G. Vital piery_angel**yahoo.com 

 Poland

Katarzyna Piwosz kpiwosz**mir.gdynia.pl 

 

 Portugal

Rodrigo Costa rodcosta10**gmail.com

Francisco Coelho franciscorcoelho**gmail.com

 Qatar

Aspa D. Chatziefthimiou a.chatziefthimiou**richerenvironments.com  

 Russia

tba

 

 Saudi Arabia

Majed Albokari mbokari**kacst.edu.sa

 

 Singapore

Jianzhong He ceehj**nus.edu.sg

 

 Slovenia

Nina Gunde-Cimerman nina.gunde-cimerman**bf.uni.lj.si

Polona Zalar Polona.zalar**bf.uni-lj.si

 South Africa

Don A. Cowan don.cowan**up.ac.za

Thulani Makhalanyane Thulani.Makhalanyane**up.ac.za
AMBASSADOR OF THE YEAR 2015 - 2016

 South Korea

Joonhong Park parkj**yonsei.ac.kr

Lee Tae Kwon tklee**microbial-ecology.net

 Spain

Emilio O. Casamayor casamayor**ceab.csic.es
Ramiro Logares ramiro.logares**gmail.com

Maria Vila Costa mvcqam**cid.csic.es

 Sweden

Stefan Bertilsson stebe**ebc.uu.se

Hanna Farnelid hanna.farnelid**lnu.se

Switzerland

Christof Holliger  christof.holliger**epfl.ch

 

 Taiwan

Shiu-Mei Liu smliu**mail.ntou.edu.tw

Yin-Ru Chiang yinru915**gate.sinica.edu.tw

 United Arab Emirates

Shady Amin samin**nyu.edu

 

 United Kingdom

Hilary Lappin-Scott h.m.lappin-scott**swansea.ac.uk

James McDonald j.mcdonald**bangor.ac.uk

 United States

Mya Breitbart mya**usf.edu
Jizhong Zhou zhouj**ornl.gov

William Orsi  william.orsi**gmail.com
Jennifer Pett-Ridge pettridge2**llnl.gov 

 Uruguay

Claudia Piccini piccini**iibce.edu.uy

Karina Antúnez kantunez03**gmail.com 

 Vietnam

Chu Van Thuoc thuoccv**imer.ac.vn

Pham The Thu thupt**imer.ac.vn

For safety reasons the @ has been replaced by **